Do-it-yourself: Snuggly Soft Rug

Posted: July 31, 2010 in Bedroom, DIY
Tags: , ,

Soft & snuggly, ignore temp curtains and naked walls

I have been dreaming of a VERY snuggly soft rug under our new KING bed (see how we built bed frame for $26 and topped it w/ a mattress and new bedding for under $400 total here) but not willing to pay many-hundreds of dollars, I came across a solution and ‘how-to’ on another blog I like to read. Here is their article if you are curious: Young House Love. They made faux sheepskin rugs & throws out of a shaggy rug and also faux fur fabric to place throughout their house (and even under their Christmas Tree!..Brilliant, I say!). So, an hour later I was at the fabric store contemplating if the bolt of fur would be big enough…and less than 24 hrs later it was in my Master Bedroom.

If you can make little ones, then I’m sure you can make BIG ones, right? I guess mine resembles a polar bear instead?! Some people might hate this idea and this look and to each their own…but I sure like how it feels on my feet 🙂 Here’s how I made it…

Anyone else enjoying any furry or faux ‘friends’ in your home? I’ve never really been into fur before but sure feels nice and our cats and baby seem to like it too!

P.S.-Fabric was $19/yd and I bought 2.5yds x 60″ wide (So, it was $50 which I consider to be quite a deal for a rug). We are keeping it in place with a 4×6 non-skid carpet pads and a little carpet tape on the outer edges. Could have bought a bigger carpet pad and cut it the same way though!

Comments
  1. […] $85 at our local Bed Bath and Beyond. Here’s a link to the $25 headboardand a soft rug. Time to finish the rest of the room with a dresser, new curtains, etc… Here’s […]

Leave a Reply

